What is Chakra Healing?

You are a bundle of energy made up of multiple layers and dimensions of vibrations. Your unique energy is often referred to as your aura and its layers are interconnected at different points called the chakras. These occur in your physical and non-physical being, and there are many of them. Some even extending out within different layers of your aura.

Chakras allow for the flow of energy in to and out of your system. When a consistent amount of energy flows through your energy centers it is often referred to as open or balanced chakras. You will feel energized, upbeat and full of life. But when one or more of these chakra points are out of balance, you will likely feel tired, may have certain physical symptoms associated with that area and may feel some negative emotions.

Derived from the Sanskrit word which means ‘wheel of light’, the physical chakras are concentrations of nerves and peaks of energy located at specific points on your body. Each chakra is connected to different spiritual, emotional, mental and physical aspects of your being.

There are seven main or vital chakras in the body other than many more but these 7 chakras are the focal points of energy centers linked with all vital organs and vital emotions.

As you will see below, each chakra represents different aspects of your body, mind and soul. And chakras have many associations from different faiths and cultures including symbols, sounds, crystals and most commonly, specific colours.

When you face an emotional or physical hurdle in life or feel overwhelmed or disoriented in any aspect of your life or in your physical body, you can look to the chakra healing for holistic approach to mind-body health and help.

Root Chakra
Location: Base of spine in tailbone area. Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money and food.
Sacral Chakra
Location: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in. Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality.
Solar Plexus Chakra
“Illustrious gem”
Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area. Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem.
Heart Chakra
Location: Center of chest just above the heart. Emotional issues: Love, joy and inner peace.
Throat Chakra
Location: Throat. Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings and the truth.
Third Eye Chakra
Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra). Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions.
Crown Chakra
Location: The very top of the head. Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss.